HIS5B09 HISTORY OF MODERN INDIA MODULE-3 TOPIC- MORLEY MINTO REFORM GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ACT -1909

Dr. Arun Thomas M. Assistant Professor Department of History, Little Flower College, Guruvayur

arunthoma73@gmail.com

BACKGROUND

• In 1906, Lord Morley, the Secretary of State for Indian Affairs, announced in the British parliament that his government wanted to introduce new reforms for India, in which the locals were to be given more powers in legislative affairs.

- A committee was appointed by the Government of India to propose a scheme of reforms.
- The committee submitted its report, and after the approval of Lord Minto and Lord Morley, the Act of 1909 was passed by the British parliament.
- The Act of 1909 is commonly known as the Minto-Morley Reforms

The following were the main features of the Act of 1909:

- 1. The number of the members of the Legislative Council at the Center was increased from 16 to 60.
- 2. The number of the members of the Provincial Legislatives was also increased. It was fixed as 50 in the provinces of Bengal, Madras and Bombay, and for the rest of the provinces it was 30.

• 3. The member of the Legislative Councils, both at the Center and in the provinces, were to be of four categories i.e. ex-officio members (Governor General and the members of their Executive Councils), nominated official members (those nominated by the Governor General and were government officials), nominated non-official members (nominated by the Governor General but were not government officials) and elected members (elected by different categories of Indian people).

- 4. Right of separate electorate was given to the Muslims.
- 5. At the Center, official members were to form the majority but in provinces non-official members would be in majority.
- 6. Two Indians were nominated to the Council of the Secretary of State for Indian Affairs.
- 7. The Governor General was empowered to nominate one Indian member to his Executive Council.

MONTAGUE-CHELMSFORD REFORMS

- Edwin Montague became Secretary of State for India in June 1917.
- During the first World War, the Congress and the League both cooperated with the British Government for they needed "Self-government"
- Lord Chelmsford, the Viceroy of India said that the creation of British India as an integral part of the British Empire with Self-government was the goal of the British rule.

- In 1916, the Indian Government sent its political recommendation to Mr. Chamberlain, the Secretary of State for India for the Indians, who did not approve it.
- However, the same year, M.A. Jinnah, S.N. Banerjea and Srinivasa, members Imperial Legislatiure presented their own memorandum of reforms.
- Gokhale had also submitted his recommendations before his death in 1915, which were published in 1917.
- Edwin Montagu, the Secretary of State for India toured India himself and met its political leaders.

- The Bill was introduced in the House of Common on June 2, 1919 and in the House of Lords on December 11, 1919.
- It passed on 18th December 1919. It was signed by the King George 5th on 23rd December 1919.

The following were the main features of the Act of 1919:

 The most important aspect in this Act was the division of powers under the system of Diarchy in the provinces.

- Provincial subjects were divided into "Reserved Subjects" such as police, jails, land revenue, irrigation and forests and "Transferred Subjects" such as education, local self-government, public health, sanitation, agriculture and industries.
- The Reserved subjects were to be administered by the Governor and his Executive Council.
- The Transferred subjects were to be administered by the Governor and his ministers.
- A bicameral (Two Chambers) legislature was set up at the center, consisted of the Council of States (60 members) and Legislative Assembly (145 members).
- Salaries of the Secretary of State for India and his assistants were to be paid out of the British revenues.
 So far, they were paid out of the Indian revenues.